top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSharna Moore

Summer Jute Bag Patten


Little Summer Jute bag as featured in Simply Crochet magazine issue 98 on the Hookery Treasure page.


This bag is made from extremely strong and study Jute, perfect for carrying your holiday essentials and a few bottles of fizz to that perfect summer-time party.

Materials:

Nutscence Natural Jute Twine 300 m

two round wooden bag handles

7mm hook

stitch marker

yarn needle

Abbreviations (uk):

sts (stitches)

sl st (slip stitch)

ch (chain)

dc (double crochet)

BLO (back loops only)

Notes:

Use a stitch marker on each round.

Pattern:


ch31 onto first handle, turn, 1dc in first st and every st to end of row, ch1 turn. (30dc)

Row 2-4 - 1dc into every st to end of row, ch1 turn. (30dc)

Row 5 - 2dc in first st, 1dc in every st to last st, 2dc in last st. (32dc) fasten off.

Now repeat pattern on your second handle. Do not fasten off.

Joining your two pieces.

Place your two pieces together facing right way, pick up your yarn where you left and join with a sl st onto your 2nd side, and work 1dc into every st to end, sl st to join your bag together on the other side again and continue working 1dc across your other side of bag, join with sl st. (64dc)

Now we are going to work in the rounds, a stitch marker may come in useful here.


Round 1 - 1dc in every st around, join with sl st. (64dc)

Round 2 - all sts in this round are made in back loops only. Work 1dc in every BLO of each st to end of round. (64dc)

Round 3 & 4 - repeat round 1.

Round 5 - repeat round 2.

Continue this pattern for another 27 rounds. Fasten off leaving a very long strand to sew the bottom of your bag together.

To finish turn your bag inside out using a whip stitch sew or crochet the bottom of your bag together.

I like to share a lot of patterns for free my free patterns have not been tech edited or pattern tested. Please do let me know of any mistakes you may come across. Feed back is always welcome. I would love to see your bag on Instagram @sweet_sharna.




7,974 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
left over yarn from your wool and the gang kit? why not turn it into a stunning wall hanging

What do you do with your left over yarns? I had some gorgeous left over crazy sexy wool from a jumper kit I received from the awesome Wool and the Gang. The jumper I made is called the heart of mine jumper. The kit comes with everything you need to make it the right amount of yarn in any colour of your choice the pattern and crochet hook. The pattern is very easy to follow and you can make it in no time at all I chose the colour Cameo rose, such a pretty colour, crazy sexy wool is so squishy and soft to touch, imagine how lovely this jumper is to wear.

I was very happy with my new jumper, and even more happy because I nearly had a whole skin of crazy sexy wool left over.  I wanted to make something visual and special with this last piece of yarn also this Cameo rose colour is so pretty and calming I could stare at it all day long that's why I decided to make a cute chunky wall hanging.

How to make a wall hanging

Materials

150g of crazy sexy wool

15mm crochet hook

yarn needle

any stick you can hang your square on.

The square is called a square inside a square, the pattern is not my pattern, I found it on Pinterest from hooksandyarns.blogspot.com. I made my square in just one colour. You can use any pattern really, I just love the look and texture you get when using this pattern. When you have finished your square sew in all the ends. Now to attach some tassels, I put one tassel through every stitch at the bottom of my square.

How to make your tassels

With one piece of yarn 24cm long, fold it in half with the loop at the end, then push it through your first stitch, then gently pull the yarn threads through your stitch and loop and tighten, repeat till the very last stitch. Don't worry if some of your tassels are longer then the others, you can give them a little trim once you've finished.

Attaching your stick

Using your yarn needle, sew the stick onto the square, attach another piece of yarn to each end of your stick which you will use to hang your wall hanging.

I hope you have enjoyed this wall hanging idea, please do tag me on Instagram @sweet_Sharna if your have an account and make one.

bottom of page