top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSharna Moore

Flower power granny square pattern

Granny Square Day 2019 !!! The sixth year which was back in August 2019. I was super excited to be asked by at Simply Crochet Mag to be a Granny Square Ambassador, myself and three other amazing ambassadors @annaboos_house, @katiejonesknit and @barbertondaisy we all shared exclusive free Granny Square patterns on our blogs and social media sites.

Here’s my Flower Power Square Pattern

Pattern:


Yarn: You can use any yarn with the right size hook. I used Ricorumi cotton DK

005 Vanillia, 008 Rose, 012 Pop Pink, 002 Butter, 010 Smokey Rose, 003 Light Blue, with a 4

mm hook.


Pattern is written in UK terms.


Round 1: Starting with your first colour make a magic ring, 12tr into ring. Sl st to join. Fasten off. (12tr)

Round 2: Join new colour, 1dc in 1st st, 1htc, 4tr, 1htc in next st, 1dc in next. Repeat to end of round. Fasten off. ( 6 petals 6dc)

Round 3: Join new colour, working in the back of your work, join into the back of 1dc, ch5, sl st into next dc, ch5, repeat until you have 6 spaces of ch4.

Round 4: Turn your work so it’s facing right way, working in each ch5 space, 1dc, 1htc, 1tr, 4dtc, 1tr, 1htc, 1dc in each ch5 space around. ( 6 petals)

Round 5: working into the back of your work, we need to create 4 spaces of chain 6, each chain 6 space will become a grannysquare corner in round 6. To start, join your yarn into the middle of any petal, ch6, sl st into last stitch of next petal, ch6, skip one petal and sl st into the midde of your next petal, ch6, sl st into last stitch of next petal, ch6, sl st into your starting point of this round. you should now have 4 spaces of chain 6.

Round 6: Join new colour, into any ch6 space, have your work facing right way, 3tr, ch2, 3tr in same space, * 3tr, ch2, 3tr in next ch6 space, repeat from * to * another 2 times. Fasten off.

Round 7: Join new colour, sl st into ch2 corner space, 3tr, ch2, 3tr in same space, 3tr in next space, repeat to end of round, join with sl st. Fasten off.

Round 8: Repeat round 7 adding extra side spaces of 3tr. Fasten off.

Round 9: Join new colour, 1dc in each st around, working 1dc, ch1, 1dc in corner spaces.

Fasten off sew in all ends.


9,055 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
left over yarn from your wool and the gang kit? why not turn it into a stunning wall hanging

What do you do with your left over yarns? I had some gorgeous left over crazy sexy wool from a jumper kit I received from the awesome Wool and the Gang. The jumper I made is called the heart of mine jumper. The kit comes with everything you need to make it the right amount of yarn in any colour of your choice the pattern and crochet hook. The pattern is very easy to follow and you can make it in no time at all I chose the colour Cameo rose, such a pretty colour, crazy sexy wool is so squishy and soft to touch, imagine how lovely this jumper is to wear.

I was very happy with my new jumper, and even more happy because I nearly had a whole skin of crazy sexy wool left over.  I wanted to make something visual and special with this last piece of yarn also this Cameo rose colour is so pretty and calming I could stare at it all day long that's why I decided to make a cute chunky wall hanging.

How to make a wall hanging

Materials

150g of crazy sexy wool

15mm crochet hook

yarn needle

any stick you can hang your square on.

The square is called a square inside a square, the pattern is not my pattern, I found it on Pinterest from hooksandyarns.blogspot.com. I made my square in just one colour. You can use any pattern really, I just love the look and texture you get when using this pattern. When you have finished your square sew in all the ends. Now to attach some tassels, I put one tassel through every stitch at the bottom of my square.

How to make your tassels

With one piece of yarn 24cm long, fold it in half with the loop at the end, then push it through your first stitch, then gently pull the yarn threads through your stitch and loop and tighten, repeat till the very last stitch. Don't worry if some of your tassels are longer then the others, you can give them a little trim once you've finished.

Attaching your stick

Using your yarn needle, sew the stick onto the square, attach another piece of yarn to each end of your stick which you will use to hang your wall hanging.

I hope you have enjoyed this wall hanging idea, please do tag me on Instagram @sweet_Sharna if your have an account and make one.

bottom of page